Up the brae an doun the brae.*

With no travel yet to come I still have a travel blog to fill. Thus I ‚traveled‘ today to the nearby Phönix Lake here in Dortmund. I normally take a walk around the lake on Sundays when Polyvios is in Dortmund but today we wanted to take a step further: we wanted to climb the hill next to the lake. It is approximately 139m above sea level. Not a really high hill you see.

It is possible to take the stairs, but with my desolate knee quite impossible so we had to walk the serpentine up. No, I don’t want to take the 263 stairs, really. But they are a nice motif though.

Up, you can see until the Ardey mountains and yes, even some Dortmunder landmarks can be found: the Florian tower and the Westfalen Stadium (I am absolutely no soccer fan, but I still refuse to call that ugly thing ‚Signal Iduna Park‘!)

But most of all you see lots of construction cranes which give the lake side is special charm.

They fit nicely to the loveless concrete blocks that hem the lake now. It really is a nice walking route to me, but I don’t know, if I want to live there…

* [Scots; English translation: Up the hill and down the hill.] When I spent my semester abroad in Glasgow, I asked a passersby how I could get to the next Aldi. This was his answer.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

