I’m still waiting for you, oh I’m still waiting for you, I’m still waiting for you, food!

At the end of last year, the lovely girls of sPOTTlight recommended a visit at La Paz, a Spanish tapas restaurant in the center of Dortmund. Polyvios and I already paid them a visit two years ago and we enjoyed it. After reading this nice blog entry we decided to go there again. But this time we were really disappointed.
We went there yesterday, Valentines Day, and we weren’t the only guests, of course. So we knew we would have to wait a bit, but we didn’t expects to wait that long!
We arrived 15 minutes earlier before the reserved time so we had to wait at the bar until our table was ready. So far so good. We got our table and the menu and then we had to wait 30 minutes to order our beverages and dishes. It took another 30 minutes for our beverages to arrive: 2 glasses of wine and a bottle of sparkling water! Perhaps the wine simply just had to be tread!
After that the waiting continued.https://i0.wp.com/photos-e.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xaf1/t51.2885-15/11008183_404531776394884_360738660_n.jpg
Being a trained waitress myself I KNOW it is a no go to let guests, who had to reserve to get a table, wait for so long, I went downstairs. I couldn’t ask a waitress because no one came to us but I asked the manager, at least I think she was, if it would be normal to have to wait for the first course an hour long. We are speaking of a basket of bread and a mixed salad here.
When I was a waitress the first thing I did, after the guest were seated, was to fetch the bread.
Upstairs again, Polyvios just wanted to leave at once, after waiting 1 hour for the first course to come.
Then the magic happens: https://londonparismailandbla.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/19e72-10986004_1396170834025422_1210959611_n.jpg?w=500&h=500
This took 1 hour for preparing!
Just two minutes later the second course arrived! Oh wow! Unfortunately one of the tapas was the wrong dish! I am absolutely sure that I didn’t ordered Calamares. I tried them 3 times and I simply don’t like them! I ordered Pollo con Ajillo, what, I have to admit it, is so easy to confuse with calamares! „So you are sure you want the chicken??“ „Yes, that’s why I ordered it.“The guests, who have arrived to the same time as we have and who ordered at the same time as we did, still hadn’t their dishes jet. After one and a half hour, we almost finished eating, they went downstairs themselves. When they came back, they told us, that downstairs many guests were complaining about their dishes coming so late. So it didn’t only happen to us. To all of us? No, there was a table whom the waitresses payed a visit regularly. Perhaps, Polyvios had to become a BVB football player and I a Wag… I didn’t even recognize them, but the guests sitting around us did.
The only thing, that came very quick was the bill. Even before the Crema Catalan, which was very good, but only with vanilla flavored cream and not as the menu stated with vanilla and chocolate flavoured cream.https://i2.wp.com/photos-g.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xaf1/t51.2885-15/11008353_1566343753652742_522308978_n.jpg
We paid 82,00€ for very good tapas and unorganized and bad service.
While leaving I heard the manager saying to another guest, that during the rush hour the guests simply have to wait. No, they don’t, they just don’t have to!

Ein Gedanke zu “I’m still waiting for you, oh I’m still waiting for you, I’m still waiting for you, food!

  1. What the manager said just explains the whole experience. It’s the tone from the top. Seems like they value their own image way more than their customers satisfaction. Not a very good recipe for a restaurant to remain a success (if indeed they truly currently are, but with what you described, doesn’t seem like that to me or at least not for long).

    Gefällt mir

Schreibe einen Kommentar

